In this article:
Create | Settings | Used by | Color | Actions

What are groups?

Groups are a way of categorizing objects into logical groups that make sense to you. If you only have a few objects, this doesn't really matter much and you can use the default groups. But when the number of your objects are growing, it is advisable to create additional groups (and assign your objects to those groups) to ensure that menus and selection lists are easy to navigate.

Create groups

You can create a group in two ways:

  • Click on Define - New in the sidebar menu.
  • Click on the Actions - Create new button of an existing group. This also enables you to make a copy of an existing group.

Either way, the rest of the process is the same, and you can enter a name for your new group and define its settings:

screenshot account groups

This page also shows all objects that have been assigned to this group.

Settings

You can define the settings for the group via these fields:

  • Name - enter a name. This must be unique within all your groups.
  • Description - enter an (optional) description. This is helpful to document your various groups.
  • Active/locked - activate or lock a group. When locked, all objects belonging to this group are hidden in the menu navigation, and therefore disabled.

Used by

The Used by field determines which type of objects can be assigned to a group. For example, you can create user groups, report groups, data set groups etc. This enables you to set up a relevant and easy to navigate structure for each type of your objects.

You can select which type of objects can be assigned to this group:

  • Data set
  • Import
  • Report
  • Model
  • User
  • User role

Color

You can assign a color to every group, which changes the page header color on all items that belong to that group. This makes user navigation more intuitive.

Actions

When defining a group, you can use the Save and Actions buttons in the right-top of the screen:

screenshot account groups actions

These buttons enable you to do the following:

  • Save - save your changes
  • Actions - open a dropdown menu with further options:
    • Create a new group (or copy one)
    • Delete this group
    • Export data or print
Recommended reading:
Back to top | Profile | User roles | Users